Helpful Tips · My Projects

Downsizing: How My Painted Table Came to Be

Hello!  Hope everyone is well.   Today’s post is about problem solving around downsizing.  Moving into a smaller space can be challenging!  Sometimes we don’t know until we get into our new space whether our furniture, all of our furniture, will fit or not.  It would be a real headache to find out after your move that not everything can stay.  Then one can be stuck with figuring out where to put all the extras or how to get rid of it altogether.  Not fun!

My move into a smaller apartment was a great study on how to get rid of stuff you don’t need and how to budget around buying furniture for a temporary place.  Having sold some of my living room furniture and having gotten rid of a lot of junk (!), I found it a bit liberating to finally offload some outdated pieces.  In the end I decided the sofa as well as the dining table and chairs would stay.  I knew my dining table would not fit in my new space however so it went into the storage locker.  With the need for an eating area I then bought a 42″ round antique maple table for a hundred bucks and painted it white.

new pics 176

After prepping the wood by washing and sanding I applied two coats of primer followed by two coats of paint and then two coats of glaze to protect the paint and to create a surface with an easy wipe finish.  Here is the finished product.

new pics 187

With a little bit of imagination and a little bit of work the dining room is now complete with a small round table that seats four.  Who says you have to spend tons of money on furniture!

4 thoughts on “Downsizing: How My Painted Table Came to Be

  1. That looks like a perfectly painted table. Very nice done Lori ! I wish I had your painting skills.
    For myself, I can wall-paper as the best, but painting furniture, a straight wall or a staircase is not my kind of thing. Somehow I always manage to have too much paint on one side and too less paint somewhere else, or stripes or other things which makes the result looks like it’s done by an amateur ;-(

    Like

Leave a Reply

