Helpful Tips · Inspiration · My Projects

DIY Tack Board

Hi there!  In an ode to office organization I wanted to post one of my last projects which was a DIY tack board.  Couldn’t find anything interesting or pretty in the tack board department so I decided to craft one myself.  Off to Michaels I went and there I found an inexpensive, medium-sized tack board with a wooden edge; just what I was looking for!  Then, in the accessories department, I found a package of fabric flowers that I liked and from there began planning the design of my board. My office is full of papers and I don’t have a lot of space on my desk so the tack board idea would help save a lot of time by keeping things in view and organized.

My first feat was choosing a colour for the frame.  I pulled it from the flower colours and then mixed the paint up to get my light purple colour below.  I used acrylic and then topped it off with glaze to protect the finish.  Of course you can choose any paint that is already pre-mixed.  I’m kind of in the process of learning how to colour mix so I used this as a little practice.  It’s also really fun!  🙂

IMG_4018

IMG_4453

IMG_4460

Once the glaze dried I glued the flowers and it was complete!  On the wall of my little office it went and now sits in waiting for all the little snippets of information, cards and memoirs that give it a life all its own.

‘Til next time,

Lori 🙂

Leave a Reply

